Zephyr 98 Archive

Bearing with myself

Posted on: August 24, 2009

As I thought, “translating” the original story of the blue bear to text was hard, but not completely in the way I anticipated. I found myself adding details in text that I could overlook when telling out loud–when theatrics are at least as important as details, and logic isn’t always necessary (or even desired, depending on the age of the audience). But text is something else. I finished a solid draft and am reviewing it to see what makes sense as illustration notes or what can be implied with nudges for the illustrator, and what works fine alongside an illustration, even if it’s redundant. Good progress, though–I’m happy with the results so far, especially since (intentionally) I wrote it on notebook paper during a car drive to and from a day hike at Silver Falls.

2 Responses to "Bearing with myself"

Man, I’m glad you wrote it on paper, ’cause if you’d texted it while you were driving, that would be illegal.

Deborah drove. My job was to raise my head and scowl at the most recent maneuver, and for her to respond with, “You’re not dead yet, are you?”

Leave a Reply

Tweets

